Bring it on! I have heard for years about the challenges and opposition that
people face when they start to do big things for God.  Correction: when God
starts to use people to do big things.  It didn't take long for us to start to
feel some opposition.  But, we also feel a wonderful, peaceful support from so
many others.  The lord has plans for us, and the work that He has given us will
have eternal consequences.  This reality will conquer any oposition that we may
face, "for if the Lord is with us, who can be against us?"  I have had a
surprizingly easy time embracing the mission that God is sending us on, despite
the risks involved. But last night, I became filled with fear, after having a
conversation with well-intentioned people, but not those I would count as wise
counsel.  I laid on the floor of my son's bedroom, because he wasn't feeling
well and was having trouble getting to sleep.  And I cried.  I sobbed into the
pillow so as not to disturb my beautiful boy. I cried to God, begging him to
keep us safe, and telling Him that I would follow and trust obediently.  I tried
to sound confident as I told God that I would do whatever he asked, no matter
what the earthly consequences might be.  

I realize that I have to give up everything of this world, acknowledging that
it isn't mine but His, and the list of everything includes my precious family. 
If it is the Lord's will for us to face difficulty, opposition, battles or
death, then so be it.  My earthly self says that I would just rather take the
brunt on their behalf, but that isn't necessarily what God has in store for us. 
Wouldn't it be great if all of this was just a test of my resolve and obedience?
Let's plan on a post in about a year about how great everything was, and how God
delivered us through the difficulties like he did with Daniel (and the lions).  
 
I shared these thought with Sarah this morning, and she was very supportive
(of course, as always) but she also shared a light hearted way of training
ourselves (usually children) to trust God's plan.  She sang me a traditional
Sunday School song, which was new to me:
     I may never march in the  infantry, Ride in the cavalry, Shoot the artillery. 
     I may never fly o'er  the enemy, But I'm in the Lord's army. (yes, sir!) 
     I'm in the Lord's army,  (yes, sir!) I'm in the Lord's army, (yes, sir!) 
     I may never march in the  infantry, Ride in the Calvary, Shoot the artillery. 
     I may never fly o'er the  enemy, But I'm in the Lord's army. (yes, sir!) 
    
So that helped bring me up a little, and I am proud to serve!

 2 Timothy 1:7 also helped:  For God has not given us a spirit of fear and
timidity, but of power, love, and self-disipline.

Praise the Lord, and all Glory be His.  And thank you to those who have been
so supportive, and for those who care enough to question our sanity.  But if you
are against us, I say "bring it on," because you aren't up against us, but the
Almighty Creator of everything that there has ever been and ever will be. 




Leave a Reply.